What is IELTS

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System which is designed to test the English language ability of people across the globe. It is one of the most popular English-language tests for candidates who want to study, work or migrate to English-speaking countries.

There are two versions of this test i.e. Academic and General Training. The Academic test is for those candidates who want to study for higher education, however, General Training is for those people who want to live, do work and migrate to an English-speaking nations.

IELTS exam consists of four modules – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The test time for each module is given below:

  • Listening  –   30 minutes
  • Reading    –   60 minutes
  • Writing     –   60 minutes
  • Speaking  –   11-14 minutes

The Listening, Reading and Writing tests are done in one sitting without any break. The speaking test may be organised on the same day or up to seven days before and after the other (L.R.W.) modules.