How the IELTS Speaking Test is marked/ graded

Related eBooks

The IELTS Speaking Test is marked or graded using score from 1 to 9 on four criteria, as follows:

Fluency and Coherence: This means how fluently a candidate speaks or in other words, how well one maintains a flow of speech while developing the answer on the given topic or question. In addition, the examiner determines the cohesive features or connectives are appropriately used.

Lexical Resource/ Vocabulary: This means a candidate has to use a wide range of vocabulary precisely. An examiner usually checks whether you are able to use less common and idiomatic expressions skilfully.

Grammatical Range and Accuracy: This means a candidate has to use a wide range of structures appropriately. An examiner will not only look for the tenses, but also check whether you organize your sentences well.

Pronunciation: This means a candidate uses a full range of pronunciation features accurately such as intonation, stress, pauses, etc.

For detailed information, download the public version of IELTS Speaking band descriptors from here.

Previous Lesson
Next Lesson

About the Author: Rohit

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *